Saturday, 29 December 2012

Top 6 of 2012!!

Well with the year coming to an end its time for me to choose my top 6 books of the year!!
It's taken me a few days to narrow it down to this five as there were so many to chose from. I literally could have gone to a 100 easy. 

Anyway, i'll stop rambling and get on with the list. They are in no chosen order -:

1/ On Dublin Street by Samantha Young - I think most of the world fell in love with Braden and Joss when they read this book. Personally i love it because i live not far from Edinburgh and it was the first book i have read that was based in Scotland (yay!) That wasn't the only reason though, the characters were written perfectly and you never got frustrated with them (in a bad way) and the story kept you hooked the whole way through. The secondary characters were fantastic as well. To be honest i normally forget the secondary characters ina book, but Samantha gives you enough information about them and keeps them included in the story very well, even making their personal lives effect the events of the main characters Joss and Braden, whereas in some other stories the supporting characters are mentioned then forgotten. 

2/ Once Burned : A Night Prince Novel by Jeaniene Frost - Holy smokes i loved this!! I read it about a month ago after debating with myself for sometime whether to buy it or not, then it went on offer and well, how could i refuse? Ok i will admit the model on the cover helped me decide a bit ;) But I couldn't put this book down. Leila was a strong female lead which was a nice change from the damsel in distress characters i had been reading, after being electrocuted, she passes volts of electricity into anyone she can touch, so it is a nice surprise for her when she finds Vlad isn't effected by it the way others are (burnt to a crisp normally) . Mind reading Vlad was fierce and proud, used to getting his own way. Leila is a challenge for him when she decides she is going to try and resist him as long as possible and try her best to reject her ever growing feelings for him and keep some form of independence. Vlad also helps Leila deal with some problems in her life in regards and i think at the end of the book she was stronger because of this. This was a real page turner and i have already preordered the next installment due out in March.

3/Slumber by Samantha Young -  OK so i am maybe cheating a bit by putting two Samantha Young books in this, but how could i not? Again Slumber was a book i had looked at a few times and thought it wasn't for me. But then i had liked every other book by Samantha so i decided to just get it. Well all i can say is i missed out for a LONG time. Slumber is exactly my kind of book. I loved the character of Rogan, she had gone through so much at such a young age, but she adapted. The scars and memories were still there but she didn't let them stop her life. She did however, let them remind her that Wolfe was the son of the man that had destroyed her life, and she wasn't about to like, trust or even love him anytime soon. The conversations between Wolfe and Rogan had me in stitches, i loved their little arguments, and the fact Rogan was so head strong and determined. She really hates Wolfe at the start of the book thinking he is just like his father, and doesn't realize that perhaps he hates his father too, but the more she tries to put distance between them, the longer she forces them to be together.

4/ Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout - How could i leave this out? Everyone knows the name Daemon Black, and the quirky one liners he makes Kat endure (wouldn't we all want to endure them) This is the second installment in the Lux series. Daemon is an alien and no not the E.T kind, we all established that in the first book. Daemon now realizes that he wants Kat, and what Daemon wants he gets. Kat however, now thinks it's just a game to him and with the DOD now watching them a relationship is the furthest thing from her mind. Pity Daemons smirks, flirty comments and those dazzling eyes can't stay out her mind. Seriously if you haven't read this series, you HAVE to. 

5/The Boy Who Sneaks in my Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley - I got this for a change from all the paranormal stuff i had been reading and was rather surprised how much i enjoyed it. Amber and Jake's father is abusive and every night Amber locks herself in her room and cries herself to sleep. Liam - her older brothers friend - see's this one night when they are kids and climbs through her room window to comfort her. This becomes a nightly all the way into high school. Now Liam is the schools biggest heart throb and flirt. Amber likes to keep to herself and only trust a few people due to the years of abuse she suffered from her father. Liam is one of the few people she trust completely apart from Jake, but there are things that even Jake doesn't know. Soon she starts to realize that Liam see's her differently that just a friend and that perhaps she see's him as more too. The book doesn't go into a lot of detail about the abuse from her father, i don't think i would have been able to read it if it had. Kirsty writes enough so you know he was a horrible man and not too much to put you off it. I love this book and was rooting for Liam and Amber the whole way. But their relationship isn't an easy one, and they have their own heartbreak to work through.

6/ The Wild Ones - Michelle Leighton - Cami was a rich girl living on her father ranch. Trick has to take work wherever he can to look after her mother and sister after his dad died. He begins working on the ranch and once he meets Cami he is a goner. But he needs this job and he can't risk getting hot and heavy with the boss's daughter. As Trick and Cami become friends, he finds it harder and harder to keep his hands off her. Then Tricks mother meets Cami and wanrs him away from her and tells him she never wants to see Cami inher house again. When secrets come out about Tricks fathers involvement with Cami's family things start to make sense to Trick why Trick should stay away from them. This was one of the hottest novels of the summer and some scenes you'll need a fan to read with. 

Books i read this year but weren't released in 2012 : 

I read a few books this year that i loved but were released a few years ago but still had to give them a mention, as their awesome!

Perfect Chemistry - Simone Elkeles
Bait - Annie Nicholas 
Rock Me - Cherrie Lynn  
Taking Chances - Loni Flowers


Saturday, 15 December 2012

Drip Drop Teardrop By Samantha Young

Drip Drop Teardrop : Samantha Young

Avery hasn’t had it easy. 
When she was ten years old her parents died in a car crash. Now nine years later her Aunt Caroline is the only family she has left. And Caroline is dying. 
So when Death comes knocking (quite literally) in the form of the damaged and dangerous, Brennus, Avery makes a deal with the reaper in order to save Caroline.

Brennus is an Ankou.
One of the many, once mortal men and women, who were given the choice to become an immortal in exchange for ferrying the dead over into their afterlife. 
Nine years ago Brennus took Avery’s parents and tried to take Avery, but she fought him and won. Amazed by her strength Brennus followed Avery and has watched over her. 
Now he knows Avery is the one to offer him freedom from his obligation to the dead. 
And he’ll stop at nothing to have her.

As with my previous review for 'Slumber' this was another book that when i first looked at it, i never thought it was something i would like. However, after thinking this with Slumber and then falling in love with it! I thought 'give this a try'. 

I really enjoyed this novella, it moves at a good pace and Samantha makes sure the characters are easy to relate to. 

When Avery was only ten years old she lost her parents in a car accident and went to live with the only family she had left. Her aunt Caroline.
Now Caroline is dying. 
Losing the only stability she has left in her life and the one person that has influenced her life so much, Avery begins to lose track of her own life and wants nothing more than to wrap Caroline up in cotton wool and try to keep her with her for as long as possible. 
Caroline doesn't let this happen and makes Avery go out once a month with her friends. 
This is where Avery meets Brennus. 

I LOVED this character. He isn't your standard drop-dead-gorgeous-drool-over character. 
He is damaged both physically and emotionally, and to love him you have to learn to see past all of this. Brennus also isn't the cliched knight in shining armor, he has a nasty streak when it comes to his desire for Avery and the lengths he will go to to have her. But this, for me, made it more relate-able and real. 

At first Avery is more creeped out and uncomfortable by Brennus because she doesn't see past these faults to the man behind them. This however, changes when she agrees to spend some time with him for the sake of her aunt Caroline. 

Overall, i really enjoyed this story. In fact i read it all in one night. Even though it is a shorter book than others by Samantha Young, there is nothing i feel like she missed out on.  
Sometimes these stories are rushed and you don't feel like you have an understanding of the characters and story at the end, but this defiantly isn't the case with this novella. 

So if you have nothing to read over the Christmas holidays, grab yourself a bargain! :D

Rating : 4/5 

Friday, 30 November 2012

Slumber by Samantha Young

Molded by a tragic childhood, nineteen-year-old Rogan finds it extremely difficult to trust people. Now Haydyn, her best friend and the one person she does trust, is dying and only Rogan can save her.

Setting off on a journey to retrieve the plant that will cure Haydyn and subsequently the ills that will befall them all if she dies, Rogan is stuck in close quarters with a protector she distrusts above all others. 

Wolfe Stovia.

The son of the man who destroyed Rogan’s family.

At a constant battle of wills with the handsome Captain of the Guard, Rogan just knows this adventure together will be fraught with tension. She never imagined, however, that the quest would be so dangerous… not least of all when she finds herself falling for a man she could have sworn was her no.1 enemy…

Mature YA fantasy romance (for older readers).

I don't think I have ever been more annoyed at myself (in a good way). If I remember correctly i looked at this book after reading Sam's Lunamorte series but thought it wasn't something i would enjoy, so didn't bother buying it. Then i was looking for something to read, saw it on Amazon and thought 'what the hell' you've never been disappointed by Samantha Young before. Well...I have no idea what i was thinking the first time around, as this is exactly the type of book i look to buy.
I loved all the characters in this story and they were all very well written. 
Taken as a child for her power to be able to find anything anyone asks for, Rogan's story starts of a very sad one and for someone who has been through so much at such a young age, Rogan is very brave and strong and has dealt with the life she was forced into very well, even growing to care for the people at the palace. Rogan lives in a time where woman don't have as many rights, freedom of speech and choices. This doesn't stop her however, and she speaks her mind whether people like it or not (they generally tend not to). Especially when it comes to a certain Captain of the Guard, Rogan hates the man and doesn't hide her feelings towards him either, yet in every way she has met her match this time.  
Wolfe Stovia's father was the one who came and took Rogan as a child, destroying her family forever. Even with his father long dead Rogan holds a special hatred for the Captain and believes him to be just like his father, even believing he is waiting to take his revenge on Rogan for his fathers death. 
When Rogan's best friend Haydyn slips into a sleep that will soon claim her life, Rogan has no other option than to travel with Captain Wolfe and the Royal Guard to try and find a cure for Haydyn. 
The arguments between Captain Wolfe and Rogan were brilliant! At times i really did feel sorry for all those guards having to travel with them, because at times i just wanted someone to lock the two of them in a room together until they realized their feelings for one another. Perhaps even bang their heads together just for pay back ;)
On their journey to save Haydyn, Rogan gets herself into trouble over and over again by continually disobeying the orders of the Captain (poor man!) forcing him to come and rescue her. The mission begins to teach Rogan more about herself and that you can leave the past in the past without forgetting where she came from and the family she lost. 
The closer she gets the Wolfe the more she thinks she misjudged him all along. But can she forget who his father is and learn to trust him? Could she possibly love him?
Rogan and Wolfe take the main love story but there is another one played out lightly in the background between Haydyn and Matai - her personal guard. Their ending is left unclear as Matai is too low in rank to marry Haydyn, so she is left with the choice whether to marry for love or duty. 

I really enjoyed this book. A part of me angry that i refused to put it down and now it is finished :( 

Although, saying that. I feel the way Samantha ended the story there is defiantly room for a sequel (please, please, please!). After Haydyn wakes up she has also changed and some might question whether for the good or not. 

I have never bought a Samantha Young book and thought it was a disappointment and Slumber didn't just keep my expectations but blasted them all through the roof. 

Great job Sam!!!


Saturday, 24 November 2012

Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

I finally got to this book after adding it to my wish list about two months ago, and it was well worth the wait. 

This is the first book I have read from Jeaniene Frost, but it defiantly won't be the last. 

Before getting to the review here is the summary of the book:

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person's darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude...until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world's most infamous vampire...

Vlad Tepesh inspired the greatest vampire legend of all--but whatever you do, don't call him Dracula. Vlad's ability to control fire makes him one of the most feared vampires in existence, but his enemies have found a new weapon against him - a beautiful mortal with powers to match his own. When Vlad and Leila meet, however, passion ignites between them, threatening to consume them both. It will take everything that they are to stop an enemy intent on bringing them down in flames.

The reason I left it so long before buying the book was because it was marked at almost £5 which i wasn't sure I was willing to pay. Then I got an email from amazon saying it had dropped to £1.99 and there was no hesitation in me buying it. Which i am glad i did. 

I loved the character of Leila as she wasn't your normal "why is this happening to me" female character. She very much accepted her fate and dealt with it the best she could. 
I also loved the fact that while everyone one feared Vlad, Leila didn't hold back when it came to telling him exactly what she thought of him. 
Even when she is kidnapped she uses her powers and makes own plan so she can escape from them, instead of just hoping someone was going to come along and save her. 
She is very head strong as well. If someone, usually Vlad, tells her to do something and she thinks it isn't right or she can do more to help, then she will. 

Vlad is the Prince of Darkness, he's strict, loyal to those loyal to him, and incredibly HOT! Which has nothing to do with the fact that he has the power to harness fire. Seriously he should come with a warning.
He knows Leila wants him and is very vocal in that knowledge. His ego should be a turn off but if anything it just makes you like him more. He does't like being disobeyed or challenged, which is something he has to learn to deal with more than once when Leila is with him. 

Marty is a dwarf vampire that Leila has a performance routine with at the carnival they perform in. After losing his daughter he becomes the father figure in Leila's life, since Leila and her family are practically estranged due to her unusual powers, and the death of her mother. Though he isn't in the story a great deal, his character is still very important in regards to the decisions Leila makes regarding her circumstances. 

This book was VERY well written, and to be honest after the books I have been reading recently that little plus point was like a God send. 

It was unpredictable and kept you on your toes, even when I thought I knew what was going to happen, it turned out to be something completely different. 

This has to be in my top three of best reads this year!  

Can't wait until March 2013 to read the sequel. Already have it pre-ordered! Yay!

Rating 5/5

Monday, 19 November 2012

The Crush by C.A Williams

Recently I have been reading a lot of paranormal books and decided a change was needed so I bought "The Crush" I had been eyeing this book over the last couple of months and decided just to go for it.

Please note there is swearing in this review as i am quoting some things from the book.

First off here's a short summary of what the book is about:

17 year old Wynn Wakefield feels an instant connection to Grier Daniels after moving back to the small town in Alabama where her mom grew up to finish out her senior year. But Grier is taken by the Queen Bee of the school, Lexie Brockett, who already has their wedding all planned out after graduation to become the wife of the star quarterback and her claws instantly come out when Wynn shows up. But Wynns not looking for a fight with the mess she just escaped from, boys are the last thing on her mind.

The Crush is a new adult book with some mature themes that are more suitable for 17+

One thing that confused me straight away was the descriptions Wynn gives of her mother and step father. She portrays her mother as being very proper and strict, mentioning she is not allowed to eat on the couch and also says her mother would have a "shitfest" as she is not sitting like a proper southern gal. 
Wynn then describes her step dad as someone who dotes on her, always offering to pay for things and buying her a brand new fancy car for passing her test.
However, in the first few pages of the book i feel these descriptions are completely reversed. Without giving anything away you find out pretty quickly that her step dad is horrible and her mother is very loving and dotes upon Wynn, where as in my head i had envisioned her as being very strict from the description of her. 

Circumstances make Wynn and her mother move back to Alabama where her mother was brought up. Once there she has to enroll at the local school, helps out at her families diner and falls head over heels for Grier Daniels who is already taken by the queen of the school, someone Wynn defiantly doesn't want to get on the wrong side of. 

I felt some parts of the story were unbelievable, Wynn has trust issues and doesn't like people touching her due to a tragedy that happened in her life. This doesn't stop her from getting a little touchy touchy with Grier on the beach though, which I felt was a little out of character for her. I get C.A Williams was trying to begin a romantic relationship with the two characters, but i felt like this happened to quickly. Especially since they weren't even dating at this point. 

Wynn's past doesn't stay hidden forever though and someone who she hoped never to see again turns up and puts her life through hell again, just when she thought she was getting back on her feet. 

The worst thing for me in a book is mistakes, which i am sure every other reader out there agrees with. There was a part in the book where C.A Williams refers to the wrong character, which made me re-read the paragraph a few times before i realized it was an error. Also spelling at points was very poor. At times I felt the story moved to fast and then at other parts it seemed to drag. I feel if it was structured better it would have made a huge difference to the story.

Over all it was an OK read, but nothing that I am going to remember in a few months time. 


Tuesday, 6 November 2012

Perfect Chemistry Review Simone Elkeles

I have been wanting to read this book for a long time. So you can imagine my excitement when it reached the top of my wish list.

But first of all, a description of the book.

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created "perfect" life is about to unravel before her eyes. Forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, Brittany finds herself having to protect everything she's worked so hard for - her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend and, most importantly, the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But the closer Alex and Brittany get to each other the more they realise that sometimes appearances can be deceptive and that you have to look beneath the surface to discover the truth.

One of the things I loved most about this book, was that you got to see the story from both Brittany and Alex's point of view.  Before when i have read this type of layout, the story lacks surprise, however, the way Simone Elkeles has written it is superb and keeps you wanting to read more.

The first character we are introduced to is Brittany Ellis. To people on the outside, her life looks like a perfected barbie movie. She has the big house, the flash car and all the designer clothes a girl could want and Brittany works hard to make sure people keep on believing that. In truth she is being suffocated by pressure from her parents - her mother more so- to be perfect. Having an older sister who relies constantly on help from others due to her disability puts pressure on Brittany to be the perfect daughter her parents long for.
Fate isn't about to let that happen, and intervenes by causing Brittany to almost crash into the High School bad boy Alejandro "Alex" Fuentes (seriously how hot does that name sound?)
After his friend bets him that he can't sleep with the high school princess, and then getting paired with her as a chemistry partner, Alex finds himself spending a lot more time with Brittany and seeing she isn't the perfect girl she pretends to be, but one that is in fact hiding who she truly is.
He realizes he is falling for her but still doesn't think he is worthy of her. She is the top of the social ladder and he is in a local gang just to keep his family safe.
Whereas her life problem is to be perfect, his is to stay alive.

I cannot recommend this book enough. There were some good funny moments, teary moments and even some romance moments that made me blush!

So do yourself a favor and go read this book! :)

Rating : 4/5 

Wednesday, 3 October 2012

Tempting the Best Man BY J.Lynn Review

Madison wants to avoid Chase at all costs at her brothers wedding. 
However, there is no chance of that happening when he is the best man. 
Ever since she was a little girl she has followed Chase like a lost puppy, but he never saw her the same way. 
Then one night she almost got what she wanted, but Chase changed his mind and ever since then things have been hostile between them. 
She still has feelings for him, he still doesn't seem to reciprocate them. 
Surely she can survive a few days at a wedding with him, right?

Madison and Chase were such enjoyable to characters to read, from their comments to each other, their jealous and just hilarious situations they get themselves into. One of the things i loved the most out of this book was Chase relationship with his brothers and the way they would just be straight to the point with him. 

You just couldn't help grin like an idiot when something cute happened or blush when Madison's mom would come out with her motherly comments on Madison's love life. 

The fact that her parents were waiting for the world to end and literally prepared for it to do so was just the cherry on top. I honestly wish i knew people like them in my life, because if i did there would never be a dull moment.

Overall a fantastic read. 


Sunday, 30 September 2012

On Dublin Street By Samantha Young

On Dublin Street Review

I have typed a review up twice for this on Goodreads but when i try to post it, it won't let me. 
Anyway, i defiantly wanted to give a review for this book, so i am posting it here. 

After reading 'On Dublin Street' I am emotionally exhausted - but in a good way.

This book made me laugh, cry, shout and at one point, put it down and stomp off in a huff at a certain line from Braden. Which certainly seemed to be the highlight of my mum's day, judging by the length of time she spent laughing at my "toddler tantrum" as she called it. Yet i still crawled back to read more.

But seriously this story was AMAZING! I don't even think that word is good enough to describe just how awesome this book is. 

I have read Samantha Young's books before, and to be honest i always compare them to her 'Tale of Lunamorte' trilogy as i just thought those books were immense. However, 'On Dublin Street' has knocked those off the top of my list. 

The characters were very well written, and Samantha always makes you interested in the supporting characters as well. I was rooting for Ellie and Adam too, and usually the supporting character's just don't interest me as much. At times i just wished someone would grab Joss and shake some sense into her, which Braden did on occasion. :-) Chick deserved it. 

At times i re-read chapters just because of how great they were. This is the first book in a while that i have actually burst out laughing at some of the things the characters come out with. 

But this is a MUST read. LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!

I wish i could give it more than five stars because i honestly believe it deserves more.

Well done Samantha :-) 


Taking Chances by Loni Flowers

Taking Chances By Loni Flowers Review

Clair is running from her life. Moving from town to town, then one night she is attacked but saved from a handsome stranger Alex. 
Alex wants to help her, but she has been hurt to many times to just so easily trust someone. Can she overcome her issues and start leading her life again?

Where to start with this book?
There are so many things i could say about it, i could sit here and right positive things all night.

One of the things i have to say i loved the most was the fact that both Clair and Alex had pasts, that neither of them really wanted to admit to at first. So they were both broken characters with issues, that ended up being resolved through each other.

You understood Clair's trust issues and why she felt better off on her own. Whereas some other books i have read like this it has been dragged out too long and you just want to scream at them to get a grip. 

The chemistry Alex and Clair was excellently written and even had me blushing on more than one occasion. Any emotions the characters were going through, you were going through also, whether it be laughing, crying,  anger.  

There were really good twists that knocked you on your butt. The supporting characters were very interesting. I literally couldn't put this down until i found out how it ended. 

I would defiantly continue to read this if the story was continued. 


Taking Chances by Molly McAdams Review

Taking Chances by Molly McAdams Review

Chase is your mouth watering, tattooed bad boy. He is dangerously sexy and boy doesn't he know it. Scoring with more than one girl a night, he doesn't have plans to settle down.
Brandon is no good boy though, he is just as bad as Chase with a temper that would make even the bravest run. But he isn't afraid of commitment. 
Harper has lived under her fathers protective control for far too long. Finally leaving the military barracks she has lived all her life in, she sets off to discover who she is and what life is really like.

This is not one your normal 'who will she choose' stories. This is one you will never come across again! Guaranteed. 

I can't say to much about this book without giving away major plot lines of the story, but this book will take you on a roller coaster ride that you never want to come off.
Brandon and Chase are both likable and both HOT! and you find yourself rooting for both of them. Although, i have to admit overall i was team Chase the whole way. What can i say? I dig the tortured soul types. 
Most stories i have read where it is two boys competing for the girl i always tend to be one sided from the beginning and hoping the he will kick the other blokes butt. However, like i said in Taking Chances you find yourself feeling sorry for Chase and hoping he and Harper can get their happily ever after, but then also you care for Brandon, yeah he might have a temper that would send most men running for the hills, but he genuinely cares for Harper and wants the whole package. 

Just as you are starting to love both Brandon and Chase you also learn to hate them at times also. Chase with his womanizing ways and Brandon with his over bearing protectiveness. Sometimes you want Harper to leave them both!

Even at the end i couldn't decide if i was happy how it turned out and who i truly wanted Harper to be with. Even though i loved Chase i didn't know if he was the right guy for the character over Brandon, or if perhaps Brandon was too protective for Harper. 

All i can say is...READ IT!!

Word's can't describe how good this story is.



Welcome to In The Land Of Dreams

I am going to move all my reviews onto this blog, as i felt my personal one was becoming a mess and a bit scattered. 
I shall be moving the reviews that are on my other blog onto this one soon :-)